top of page
Søk
  • christina9849

Møt ukes tilflytter - Chau Thi Thuy Tran

Vi vil gjerne presentere en tilflytter til regionen vår. Denne uken kan du bli bedre kjent med Chau.


Interview from October 2022.

How long have you lived in Norway, did you move with family or on your own?


I came to Norway just before the pandemic at the end of 2019, so I have lived in Norway for approximately three years.



Your main reasons for moving?


I chose Norway to build up my knowledge as I enrolled in a Master's program. With a bit of luck, I got an assistantship offer from IFE – my current company, to work as an assistant researcher while studying.



What do you like best about living in Norway?


When I first arrived here, I was amazed by Norway's nature and atmosphere. I took numerous solo and group hiking trips, but still, I feel like it is not enough. However, besides the landscapes, the best part about Norway is the people. Everyone seemed "cold" initially, but the more we talked, the more they opened up. Now, I have found two best friends, a.k.a drinking-passionners, who share my hobbies. Believe me; it is worth the effort because they turn out to be friendly (sometimes shy) and funny.



What could be better?


Unfortunately, not all employers provide the needed support regarding arranging appointments with the Police Office. The procedure of getting legal documents like a study or work permit is sometimes inflexible and time-consuming. So I advise registering as soon as possible and checking the website continuously because sometimes some people drop their slots.



Are there things you find funny or peculiar that you didn't expect prior to moving?


As a girl who grew up in an urban and crowded area, I was surprised to see deer passing someone's garden. One time, I saw mama deer and her children come across my backyard. It was so cute to see; since then, I have had a habit of looking for them whenever I look out my window.



Do you have Norwegian acquaintances or friends?


Yes, I do have. Before I arrived in Norway, I had known a very kind Norwegian girl named Emilie. We took the same course on an exchange problem in another country. Her family was the first one who introduced me to the typical Christmas dinner dishes with pinnekjøtt, risgrøt, and gløgg. It was one of the most memorable meals I have ever had in Norway. Luckily, we still manage to keep in touch even though we are now living in different cities.


After two years of living in Halden and working at IFE, I have met three deer friends with whom I share my hobbies and feel comfortable. They sometimes can be "harsh," but you can always feel their implicit care.



What are your outside of work interests?


Well, I like dancing and hiking or any outdoor activities. I dance as least once a week and go hiking twice a month. Ah, also the skiing, if you have any chance to stay in Norway during the winter, I would highly recommend you to try skiing like the cross-country or downhill.



What do you miss most from your home country?

The hardest part of staying abroad is being away from my family and friends, especially during the pandemic. Before, I planned to visit my family every half the year or once a year. But due to the Covid, it has been almost three years since we haven't seen each other. Fortunately, things have improved, and I will return to visit my family this Christmas.



What has this move taught you so far?


Norway has taught me to be more balanced and appreciate things around me. Here people show a heavy focus and hard-working, but after that, they know how to have a good rest and relax. To be honest, I am still working on work-life balance. But now, I have discovered what I enjoy doing and indicate the time for them.

45 visninger0 kommentarer

コメント


bottom of page